Bad lunch jordano corrina july 26th 10


Multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Corey Gulkin, (formerly Corinna Rose), was named for the Bob Dylan version of an old folk song. However, upon first listen to her upcoming release, All the Things I’ll Forget, you will hear more of the influence of Owen Pallett or Joanna Newsom. 

Gulkin is among the new cohort of talent emerging from the burgeoning Montreal music scene. She is best known for her experimental, dark, and intricate songwriting, as well as an off-kilter sense of rhythm and unconventional song structure. Feminism is sewn into the seams of her lyrics, and is showcased front and centre in the subject matter of All the Things I’ll Forget.

With help from bandmates and co-producers Leah Dolgoy and Sam Gleason, Gulkin's music is grounded in folk music yet boundary pushing, performing as an inventive trio centred around harp, electric guitar and Gulkin's pure but powerful voice.

Raw and open-ended" "NNNN" - Sarah Greene, NOW Toronto    

"Mixing up jazz, folk and chamber pop, Rose takes a traditional template and then doodles all over it, adding her own signature curlicues to create something familiar and refreshing"  - Quick Before It Melts    

"Hypnotizing" - Jenna Melanson, Canadian Beats  

"Ms. Rose delivers something unexpectedly heartbreaking in the kind of way I had thought only Sufjan Stevens could do with a soft whisper." - Pamela Fillion, ForgetTheBox  

"L’univers de Corinna Rose oscille entre les rythmiques folk des Sœurs Boulay et les intonations feutrées de Norah Jones ou Ingrid St-Pierre...Le tableau d’ensemble résulte de ballades fortes qui nous forcent à apprécier chaque petite subtilité qui grouille à travers ses tendres mélodies." - La Bible Urbaine


GAMIQ, Folk EP of the Year (2016) 

Fringe Festival Frankie Award, Best Musical Performance (2014) 

John Lennon Songwriting Competition (2013) 

#10 Best Montreal SingerSongwriter in CultMTL (2013) 

Folk Alliance International (2016), Folk Music Ontario (2015), POP Montreal (2015, 2013), NXNE (2012), CMW (2012)